Reusing existing windows

Steps

In the workspace settings dialog (Settings tab), setting the

"Reuse existing windows" property

to "Yes" will cause existing windows of the same type to be used instead of opening a new window as is normally done when opening table or chart windows.
When an existing window is reused, it will be brought to the front of the open windows, and its size will be restored if it was previously minimized. Also, the style of the window that would normally have been opened will be applied to this existing window.


Window types

The conditions for deciding whether an existing window can be reused (ie. it is the same type as that being opened) the following criteria are checked:

* the objects in the table are the same (item, resource etc)

* the following properties are the same (for charts)

Order row content

Resource row content

Item row content

Operation row content

* the window open method is the same

Main menu (also includes opening via the toolbar or Show window command)

Jump


For example, when the "Reuse existing windows" property is set to "Yes"

Case 1

Suppose a window opened from the main menu (Window/New Order Gantt chart) is already opened in the workspace.
If another order Gantt chart is opened from the toolbar, the existing window will be reused.

Case 2

Suppose a window opened from the main menu (Window/New Order Gantt chart) is already opened in the workspace.
If the user uses the popup menu of the order table to Jump/Chart, a new window will be opened for the jump.

Case 3

Suppose a window opened from jumping to an order Gantt chart is already opened in the workspace.
If another order Gantt chart is opened from the main menu, it will appear in a new window.

Case 4

Suppose a window opened from jumping to an order Gantt chart is already opened in the workspace.
If the user uses the popup menu of the order table to Jump/Chart, the existing window will be reused.


Overriding (ignoring) the "Reuse existing window" setting

Even when the "Reuse existing window" property of the workspace is set to "Yes",

holding down the Control key while opening a table/chart

will cause the table/chart to always open in a new window. Whether opening from the main menu or from a jump, this behaviour is the same.


Field mapping window

Regardless of the setting for "Reuse existing windows", the field mapping window always only allows one instance of a window for each DBIO type.

Also, although it is possible to open field mapping windows for more than one type of DBIO at a time, it is not possible to reuse existing windows for these cases.
For example, if the "Use existing window" property is set to "Yes" and the item mapping window has already been opened, opening the field mapping for the order opens a new field mapping window.


Show Window command

The show window command contains an option to not show the window if there would be no objects to show in the resulting table/chart. When a command with this option selected is used in conjunction with the reuse of an existing window, the result is that the window is still shown even when there are no objects to display in it.


HelpNo.:739700
© Since 2018 Asprova Corporation, All rights reserved.